On December 8, 2022, a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was signed between Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council and the Government of Alberta. 

In attendance were:

Chief Ivan Sawan, Loon River First Nation;
Chief Albert Thunder, Whitefish Lake First Nation;
Chief Gilbert Okemow, Peerless Trout First Nation;
Chief Billy Joe Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band; and
Chief Isaac Laboucan-Avirom, Woodland Cree First Nation;
Minister of Indigenous Relations Rick Wilson;
Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services Jeremy Nixon; and
Minister of Mental Health and Addictions Nicholas Milliken

They declared “their desire to collaborate to establish a lasting and cooperative relationship in support of discussions between the Government of Alberta and KTC regarding mental health, addictions and social service programs”.

Talks began earlier in the year and were launched with the signing of a Statement of Intent May 3, 2022.

This MOU marks the beginning of more intense work to see positive results in KTC Member Communities.  KTC looks to the future and working hard to see this through!